More wildflowers

I’ve been playing around with the Portfolio feature in WordPress since the Editor theme I’m using supports it. I soon discovered that, unlike Posts, Portfolio (and Page) content type isn’t included in email updates to blog followers/subscribers. So, I created this post to promote a collection of wildflower pictures from places we visited.

Please check it out below. A permanent location of these wildflower pictures is here.

Anza-Borrego Desert

Some of wildflowers of Anza-Borrego Desert in California from our trip in early March 2017.

Big Bend Country

Wildflowers from Big Bend National Park and Big Bend Ranch State Park in early April 2015

Deserts of Joshua Tree National Park

Wildflowers of Joshua Tree National Park in late March-early April 2012

Mount Hood Meadows

Wildflowers from our Mt Hood Meadows hike on July 31, 2016

Rocky Mountain, Colorado

Alpine tundra flowers near Trail Ridge Road, Rocky Mountain National Park in early July 2014

7 Comments

  1. I’m going to have to experiment with this. Your photos are so beautiful. I’m particularly fond of the sunflowers. We are currently in Texas and the blue bonnets and Indian paint brushes are starting to pop our all over the place. My photos do not come close to the ones you have here. Thank you for sharing them. Safe travels, Dawn.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Lovely sunflowers! Hmm, I’m not sure if it’s just my browser (it probably is, so don’t worry), but I can’t seem to access your portfolio. Then again, my WordPress is super glitchy and constantly poops out on me. I took a peek at your permanent collection, though…such a pretty pop of spring to brighten our day! You always post such beautiful photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Thanks for letting me know. I’m not sure what happened. Glad that you could see them at the permanent location. I too sometimes had problems viewing WordPress blogs on a browser, like occasionally pictures seem distorted in dimension, or a photo gallery might be displayed as individual photos. Not sure it’s the web browser, WordPress App, or WordPress sites in general.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      1. Other culprits may be the particular WordPress theme used and/or the device the visitor is using.

        I’m reading this post on my smartphone using the WordPress app, and I see the shortcode for the photos but not the photos themselves. I figured it was the app, so opened the post in Chrome (still on the phone) and the photos appeared in all their glory.

        Can’t really complain about the app because it led me to your blog 🙂

        I’m a WordPress pro, but blog on a WordPress.com site to stay focused on writing (not tinkering). I’m continually amazed at what we are able to do on this platform.

        Not on the road yet, but I look forward to trying the portfolio post type when I have some worthy photos. Yours are gorgeous.

        Like

        Reply

        1. Thanks for visiting and for the bug report. This will help me be more careful when using Portfolio short code and theme in posts. I might have to add a note warning readers in case the WP Reader wasn’t displaying them properly.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

What do you think of this post? We love to hear from you.

